Day 29: Do It Yourself – Tag 29: Mach´s doch selber

build your own toys

The exercise: Design a new toy

I guess it was just one of these days… Demotivated, annoyed, grumpy, in the mood to jack it all in. Not very good preconditions for creative work. Besides I have worked as a kindergardenteacher and had my fair share of toys of all forms, thank you very much.

So why not make social criticism out of my beyond foul mood?

Most kids in the west have way too many toys anyway, there has to be a new one every month at least, and if there isn´t any need for it the economy will damn well create some.

So kids – get out, collect some stuff and build your own toys (hint: it doesn´t actually cost 1000€).

Die Übung: Designe ein neues Spielzeug

Ich schätze es war einfach einer dieser Tage… Demotiviert, genervt, grantig, in der Laune einfach alles hinzuschmeißen. Keine besonders guten Voraussetzungen um kreativ zu arbeiten. Abgesehen davon hab ich als Kindergartenpädagogin gearbeitet und entsprechend wirklich genügend mit Spielzeug zu tun gehabt, vielen Dank auch.

Also wieso nicht aus meiner mehr als bescheidenen Laune etwas Gesellschaftskritik machen?

Die meisten Kinder in den westlichen Ländern haben sowieso zu viel Spielzeug, jeden Monat soll´s ein neues sein, und wenn der Bedarf mal nicht besteht wird er mit Garantie von der Wirtschaft geschaffen.

Also Kinder – raus in die Natur mit euch, sammelt ein Bisschen Zeug ein und bastelt euch euer eigenes Spielzeug (kleiner Hinweis, das kostet nicht wirklich 1000€).

4 Gedanken zu “Day 29: Do It Yourself – Tag 29: Mach´s doch selber

  1. with these dark colors it almost looks like a threat 😉 I guess you haven’t been to the toy section lately 😉
    And on top of that the kids have to go outside to get the toys themselves….. interesting concept of designing a toy ;-)))) go get it yourself !!!! I enjoy the irony !

    Gefällt 1 Person

    1. Quite mirrors my mood on that day *gg* actually I have been there, that’s probably why I’m not so much into this right now, especially the „girly-toys“ worry me, aren’t we further than those stereotypes?

      And yes, I do wish kids would build more toys themselves, 3D printers could become a great tool for this, by the way.

      Gefällt 1 Person

      1. just one of these days….;-) I know….
        I have my problems with gender toys stereotypes….one of the worse examples Barbies !! I never thought of 3D printers as toy makers, that`s genious !!!
        PS: Cool that your mood reflects in your work 😉

        Gefällt 1 Person

      2. One of the WORST examples the „girly eggs“ from Kinder Surprise, SO unnecessary.

        Yes, why not, I would have loved that as a child ^^

        Yeah, as long as it doesn’t reflect in my professional work 😉

        Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

